top of page

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

3 out of 5 stars.

With all the hype around the story of 'Frankenstein', I thought I would be launching myself into a better read. And yes, I was one of those unfortunate people who happened to believe 'Frankenstein' was the monster and not the scientist, and yes I now feel absolutely dumb and uncultured to have thought so.

book reviews

"Whence, I often asked myself, did the principle of life proceed? It was a bold question, and one which has ever been considered as a mystery; yet with how many things are Although I'm not the number one fan of horror-type, monster-involved, science-fiction like novels, I definitely enjoyed Shelley's prose; and 'Frankenstein''s storyline did not hinder that aspect for me. we upon the brink of becoming acquainted, if cowardice or carelessness did not restrain our inquiries," or perhaps "The cold stars shone in mockery, and the bare trees waved their branches above me; now and then the sweet voice of a bird burst forth amidst the universal stillness. All, save I, were at rest or in enjoyment; I, like the arch-fiend, bore a hell within me, and finding myself unsympathized with, wished to tear up the trees, spread havoc and destruction around me, and then to have sat down and enjoyed the ruin," are excellent examples of Shelley's fluid sentences, ceaselessly drawing out feelings of awe in the reader. 'Frankenstein' was pleasant to read and although there was little dialogue, I didn't find it a drawl to read at any point - which is interesting considering the story itself was only "alright" to me.

How dangerous is the acquirement of knowledge and how much happier that man is who believes his native town to be the world, than he who aspires to be greater than his nature will allow.” However it is important to realize how important 'Frankenstein' proves to be. Practically 200 years after its release, questions risen in the novel seem to be even more significant to our 21st century world: one that struggles with the boundaries of technology and science. "There are repercussions to knowledge; and furthermore, there are repercussions to what one decides to do with it. A man who has little knowledge other than what he learned from his surroundings will be happier than the man who goes out of his way and strives to learn more than is provided directly to him. As goes for women. At least, that is what Shelley attempts to convince her readers of.

In actuality, had I not been so drawn in by 'Frankenstein''s prose, this novel would only have made it to 2 stars for me. However the writing was beautiful to a point where it kept me interested in the story no matter what was occurring in the novel.

At some points I found Viktor Frankenstein's reactions to be slightly strange and to me there was a clear lack of character development in certain areas of the novel: for example after Elizabeth's death, Frankenstein didn't react sufficiently as to what would have been expected from his character (after all, he knew her his life - she was his closest friend and lover - one would expect more heartfelt emotions after the death of such a person).

All points considered, I don't necessarily think it's this novel, and even to an extent it's storyline, that disagrees with me, but more the topic it deals with. As I said, I'm not a fan of anything supernatural; and this, with its scientist who can create life out of lifeless material, was definitely supernatural in my mind. However I wanted to try and read something outside my usual book, and something outside my comfort zone; so in the end I'm glad I picked 'Frankenstein' up. (And after all, any classic to me is a novel I'm always interested to pick up and read).

A FEW OF MY
FAVORITE READS

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

 

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

Macbeth by William Shakespeare

 

Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

Bel-Ami by Guy de Maupassant

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie

see my full list 

You're welcome to leave a comment, and if you've read the novel too, don't hesitate to add your own star rating!

bottom of page